Callum claims his second merit title

Callum Wraight (photos courtesy of BCGBA)

Callum Wraight, the young man who is dominating the sport this season, claimed his second Senior Merit title last Saturday. A rain soaked Hawcoat Park Sports Club in Barrow-in-Furness proved to be a wonderful venue for the Men’s British Senior Merit as everyone headed up the picturesque, when not hidden by clouds, M6.

Callum progressed serenely through the early rounds before a sensational game against the 2015 champion Tom Vickers. Tom almost claimed victory before a sensational strike from corner to corner from Callum. It proved vital as the next end saw Callum claim victory. 

In the final Callum played Gary Owen who was runner-up in 2019. We hoped for a thrilling final but it wasn’t to be. Callum did what Callum does and Gary’s radar was in need of a reboot. 


Mark Regan (Yorkshire) 16-21 Rich Goddard (Shropshire)

Andy Fergus (Greater Manchester) 21-19 David Bradford (Isle of Man)

Jordie Baddeley (North Midlands) 21-20 Joe Melvin (Potteries & District)

Noel Burrows (Cheshire) 19-21 Ian France (Cumbria)

Ian Brown (Derbyshire) 12-21 Aaron Williams (South Yorkshire)

Ian M Jones (Wales) 21-20 Tom Eccles (Greater Manchester)

Josh Bunting (Merseyside) 15-21 Ashley Daykin (Yorkshire)

Glen Herbert (Warwick & Worcester) 21-19 Mark Melvin (Potteries & District)

Adam Hartley (Derbyshire) 5-21 Tom Vickers (Cheshire)

Tony Williams (Warwick & Worcester) 20-21 Josh Thomas (Yorkshire)

Steve Greenway (Cumbria) 8-21 Billy Speed (Lancashire)

Callum Wraight (Shropshire) 21-11 Ben Percival (North Midlands)

Matt Gillies (Greater Manchester) 21-18 Paul Wilson (North Lancs & Fylde)

Stuart Nash (North Midlands) 21-16 Aaron Tapper (Staffordshire)

Russell Prosser (Warwick & Worcester) 21-12 Josh Towey (Potteries & District)

Keiron Roberts (Wales) 21-20 Tony Bannister (Yorkshire)

Darren Day (North Midlands) 17-21 Rikki Higgs (Derbyshire)

Andrew Whitaker (South Yorkshire) 14-21 Chris Cooke (Lancashire)

Matthew Simpson (Cumbria) 6-21 Ian Howell (Cheshire)

Robin Bennett (Wales) 21-19 Harry Seehra (Yorkshire)

Jak Locker (Warwick & Worcester) 2-21 Gary Owen (Potteries & District)

Michael Warrington (North Midlands) 12-21 Gareth Herbert (Staffordshire)

Chris Bly (Greater Manchester) 21-11 Eamon Hernen (North Lancs & Fylde)

Jack Dyson (Yorkshire) 21-10 Peter Farmer (Shropshire)

Richard Gill (Derbyshire) 21-13 Richard Hargreaves (Yorkshire)

Kevin Boon (Potteries & District) 21-9 Martin Barrow (Cumbria)

Dave ‘Barney’ Kelly (Isle of Man) 18-21 Gareth P Hughes (Wales)

Liam Dennis (North Midlands) 21-19 Robert Wiltshire (South Yorkshire)

Dan Varcoe (Cumbria) 21-8 George Curran (Merseyside)

David Lloyd (Shropshire) 21-11 Tim Jones (Staffordshire)

David Walker (Yorkshire) 18-21 Mike Hill (Warwick & Worcester)

David May (Derbyshire) 21-16 Jack Hargreaves (Greater Manchester)


Rich Goddard (Shropshire)21-15 Andy Fergus (Greater Manchester)

Jordie Baddeley (North Midlands) 14-21 Ian France (Cumbria)

Aaron Williams (South Yorkshire) 21-20 Ian M Jones (Wales)

Ashley Daykin (Yorkshire) 21-12 Glen Herbert (Warwick & Worcester)

Tom Vickers (Cheshire) 21-15 Josh Thomas (Yorkshire)

Billy Speed (Lancashire) 17-21 Callum Wraight (Shropshire)

Matt Gillies (Greater Manchester) 21-20 Stuart Nash (North Midlands)

Russell Prosser (Warwick & Worcester) 21-20 Keiron Roberts (Wales)

Rikki Higgs (Derbyshire) 20-21 Chris Cooke (Lancashire)

Ian Howell (Cheshire) 19-21 Robin Bennett (Wales)

Gary Owen (Potteries & District) 21-12 Gareth Herbert (Staffordshire)

Chris Bly (Greater Manchester) 18-21 Jack Dyson (Yorkshire)

Richard Gill (Derbyshire) 21-7 Kevin Boon (Potteries & District)

Gareth P Hughes (Wales) 21-6 Liam Dennis (North Midlands)

Dan Varcoe (Cumbria) 19-21 David Lloyd (Shropshire)

Mike Hill (Warwick & Worcester) 15-21 David May (Derbyshire)


Rich Goddard (Shropshire)15-21 Ian France (Cumbria)

Aaron Williams (South Yorkshire) 21-20 Ashley Daykin (Yorkshire)

Tom Vickers (Cheshire) 19-21 Callum Wraight (Shropshire)

Matt Gillies (Greater Manchester) 16-21 Russell Prosser (Warwick & Worcester)

Chris Cooke (Lancashire) 12-21 Robin Bennett (Wales)

Gary Owen (Potteries & District) 21-14Jack Dyson (Yorkshire)

Richard Gill (Derbyshire) 21-6 Gareth P Hughes (Wales)

David Lloyd (Shropshire) 21-11 David May (Derbyshire)


Ian France (Cumbria) 21-12 Aaron Williams (South Yorkshire)

Callum Wraight (Shropshire) 21-8 Russell Prosser (Warwick & Worcester)

Robin Bennett (Wales) 14-21 Gary Owen (Potteries & District)

Richard Gill (Derbyshire) 20-21 David Lloyd (Shropshire)


Ian France (Cumbria) 8-21 Callum Wraight (Shropshire)

Gary Owen (Potteries & District) 21-11 David Lloyd (Shropshire)


Callum Wraight (Shropshire) 21-9 Gary Owen (Potteries & District)

About Steve Davies 171 Articles
Throughout his bowling career Steve has always supported the admin side of the game as well as a keen player of the game. As a club secretary, association secretary, county delegate on the BCGBA (National Governing Body) Management Committee, Media Officer for the BCGBA, Merseyside champion in 2002 and Merseyside County President (2014-15) Steve has always been keen to promote the game especially through the broadcast of the game on TV or Internet. Steve set up the LIVE BOWLS YouTube channel which became the Bowls Observer channel and, through the LDBA, runs national competitions. Seeing an avenue to report on and promote the game Steve set up the Bowls Observer on-line magazine.