Senior Merit heads to Cumbria

Finally, two years late but as soon as it could, the British Senior Merit heads to Hawcoat Bowling Club in Cumbria. The best from each county will make the journey up the M6 on the last Saturday in July to compete in crown green bowls national championships.

Hopefully the bowling gods will send some good weather and we can all enjoy what is normally one of the best days to watch the sport. Play will start at 10:00am on Saturday 30th July.

The draw is:

1 Mark Regan (Yorkshire) v 2 Rich Goddard (Shropshire)
3 Andy Fergus (Greater Manchester) v 4 David Bradford (Isle of Man)*
5 Jordie Baddeley (North Midlands) v 6 Joe Melvin (Potteries & District)
7 Noel Burrows (Cheshire) v 8 Ian France (Cumbria)*
9 Ian Brown (Derbyshire) v 10 Aaron Williams (South Yorkshire)
11 Ian M Jones (Wales)* v 12 Tom Eccles (Greater Manchester)
13 Josh Bunting (Merseyside)* v 14 Ashley Daykin (Yorkshire)
15 Glen Herbert (Warwick & Worcester)* v 16 Mark Melvin (Potteries & District)
17 Adam Hartley (Derbyshire) v 18 Tom Vickers (Cheshire)*
19 Tony Williams (Warwick & Worcester) v 20 Josh Thomas (Yorkshire)
21 Steve Greenway (Cumbria) v 22 Billy Speed (Lancashire)*
23 Callum Wraight (Shropshire) v 24 Ben Percival (North Midlands)
25 Matt Gillies (Greater Manchester) v 26 Paul Wilson (North Lancs & Fylde)*
27 Stuart Nash (North Midlands)* v 28 Aaron Tapper (Staffordshire)
29 Russell Prosser (Warwick & Worcester) v 30 Josh Towey (Potteries & District)*
31 Kieron Roberts (Wales) v 32 Tony Bannister (Yorkshire)
33 Darren Day (North Midlands) v 34 Rikki Higgs (Derbyshire)
35 Andrew Whitaker (South Yorkshire)* v 36 Chris Cooke (Lancashire)
37 Matthew Simpson (Cumbria) v 38 Ian Howell (Cheshire)
39 Robin Bennett (Wales) v 40 Harry Seehra (Yorkshire)
41 Jak Locker (Warwick & Worcester) v 42 Gary Owen (Potteries & District)
43 Michael Warrington (North Midlands) v 44 Gareth Herbert (Staffordshire)*
45 Chris Bly (Greater Manchester) v 46 Eamon Hernan (North Lancs & Fylde)
47 Jack Dyson (Yorkshire)* v 48 Peter Farmer (Shropshire)
49 Richard Gill (Derbyshire)* v 50 Richard Hargreaves (Yorkshire)
51 Kevin Boon (Potteries & District) v 52 Martin Barrow (Cumbria)
53 Dave ‘Barney’ Kelly (Isle of Man) v 54 Gareth P Hughes (Wales)
55 Liam Dennis (North Midlands) v 56 Robert Wiltshire (South Yorkshire)
57 Dan Varcoe (Cumbria) v 58 George Curran (Merseyside)
59 David Lloyd (Shropshire)* v 60 Tim Jones (Staffordshire)
61 David Walker (Yorkshire) v 62 Mike Hill (Warwick & Worcester)
63 David May (Derbyshire) v 64 Jack Hargreaves (Greater Manchester)*

*denotes winner of their county merit

About Steve Davies 168 Articles
Throughout his bowling career Steve has always supported the admin side of the game as well as a keen player of the game. As a club secretary, association secretary, county delegate on the BCGBA (National Governing Body) Management Committee, Media Officer for the BCGBA, Merseyside champion in 2002 and Merseyside County President (2014-15) Steve has always been keen to promote the game especially through the broadcast of the game on TV or Internet. Steve set up the LIVE BOWLS YouTube channel which became the Bowls Observer channel and, through the LDBA, runs national competitions. Seeing an avenue to report on and promote the game Steve set up the Bowls Observer on-line magazine.