Another classic starts at Wigan Subs

The middle of May sees the start of one of the sport’s top individual competitions, the WIGAN SUBSCRIPTION MEN’S CLASSIC.

Wayne playing Simon Coupe in last years final

Based in central Wigan this club has seen some of the sports greatest display their talent on the green. It is without doubt that Wayne Ditchfield is one of them and he won this competition last year with a supremely dominant display. Wayne starts his defence of the title on Sunday against Dean Ferris.  

John Crossley playing Wayne Ditchfield in the 2017 final

The 2017 winner, John Crossley who is the last player to beat Wayne on the green, is in action on Sunday 2nd June and plays Mick Prescott.

The first night is arguably the strongest of all the qualifying sessions and sees a Yorkshire invasion over the Pennines. Graeme Wilson (multiple winner of just about every competition in the game) and All England champions in Ashley Daykin and Chris Mordue to name but a few.

Wayne receiving last year’s trophy

For those visiting the venue for this competition, which I strongly recommend, the address of the club is Park Crescent West, Wigan, WN1 1SA and all first round matches start at 6:15pm.

This year’s principal sponsors of the competition are: DGLWindows, Wigan Honda, SFConsulting, Grayway, Cheese Cabin and The Wigan Beer Company

The draw for the first two rounds of the 2019 Wigan Subscription Men’s Classic was made by one of the main sponsors, Mr Stan Fairclough of SFConsulting.

Sat 18th May
Josh Mordue v Jack Dyson
Dave Higginbottom v Phil Lee
Dan Sillitoe v Graeme Wilson
Ashley Daykin v Chris Mordue
Sun 19th May
Josh Hale v Kev Shaw
Alan Manuel v J Martin
Wayne Ditchfield v Dean Ferris
Ryan Semmens v Darren Plenderleith
Sat 25th May
Danny Miller v Dave McDermott
Darren Allsopp v George Chadwick
Danny Mayers v Michael Beer
Dale Kenyon v G Crank
Sun 26th May
Mike Tunstall v Mike Leach
J Garrett v D Kirby
Robert Hitchen v P Winrow
Tommy Johnstone v Danny Barwise
Sat 1st June
Duncan Watkins v Phil Cookson
Chris Ward v Steve Davies
Steve Gilroy v Chris Duker
Andy Cairns v Gary Ellis
Sun 2nd June
Neil Jolley v Ian Dennis
John Crossley v Mick Prescott
David Molyneux v Andy Fleming
Tom Dennison v William Griffiths
Sat 8th June
Neil Bithell v Simon Coupe
Kev Wainwright v Nicky Shaw
Callum Wraight v John Brown
Harvey Birch v Mark Britton
Sun 9th June
Ian Grady v Michael Heap
N Slattery v Andy Moss
M Sweeney v Chris Bly
D Gordon v Carl Gregson