Arthur Land Super Cup

A couple of years ago the renowned bowls organiser, Jimmy Parker, created a national team competition. The best bowling clubs from across the country played home and away in a 31up competition which swiftly became a hugely popular competition.

Since Jimmy scaled back his bowling work the competition has been organised by Liverpool’s Steve Davies. Steve, with the fantastic help of Sue Ainscough, has now released details of the draw for this years competition.

The draw has been split into north and south groups and teams won’t play another team from their own county in the first round. The teams are in groups of four and the club which wins the group then goes into an open draw for the last sixteen. The finals day will see the final eight teams on a neutral green in October.

The draw seen a couple of groups which could easily be called ‘groups of death’. The famed Lindal Club in Cumbria have a bye in the first round. In their north group, and playing each other in first round, are the winners of the last BCGBA World Club Championships, Thongsbridge from Yorkshire and Parafield Labour from North Lancs and Fylde. The Tixall, Wharton Cons and Castle Sports and Social group should also see some fantastic bowling.

The south group sees, last year’s winners, King George V play Stretton Anglesey with the winners playing Birches Head Hotel for the chance to go into the open draw last sixteen.

Northern section

Lindal v Bye
Parkfield v Thongsbridge

Springbank Dogs v Denby Grange
Eccleston v Lune road

Tixall v Wharton cons
Castle Private v Bye

Meersbrook Park v Gresford Colliery
Esclusham BC v Hadfield

Crookesmoor park v Burscough Legion
Westfield park v Bye

Maltby v King and Queen
Cunliffe BC v Netherton cons

Sandal v Bye
Woodlands park v Burbage

Southern section

Walsgrave v Florence
St Georges (Telford) v Bye

Penn BC v West Brom supporters club
Alveston & Boulton v Bye

Willenhall Nordley v Bye
M & B Cheslyn Hey v Bowring BC

Greville v Short Heath Libs
Swadlincote Catholic Club v Bye

Haunchwood v Bye
Newport BC v Bucknall ex-servicemans

Burslam CC v Kings Heath park
Hadley USC v Bye

Atherstone cons v Dudley dell
Meole Brace v Bye

Woodfield v Wolstanton High Street BC
Castlefields v Bye

KGV v Stretton Anglesey
Birches Head Hotel v Bye

The first round will be completed by the second weekend in June and the second round is to be completed by the week before the British Senior Merit in July. Steve has already confirmed that he will publishing details of the 2017 competition by the end of this years competition.

About Steve Davies 168 Articles
Throughout his bowling career Steve has always supported the admin side of the game as well as a keen player of the game. As a club secretary, association secretary, county delegate on the BCGBA (National Governing Body) Management Committee, Media Officer for the BCGBA, Merseyside champion in 2002 and Merseyside County President (2014-15) Steve has always been keen to promote the game especially through the broadcast of the game on TV or Internet. Steve set up the LIVE BOWLS YouTube channel which became the Bowls Observer channel and, through the LDBA, runs national competitions. Seeing an avenue to report on and promote the game Steve set up the Bowls Observer on-line magazine.